Healthy buckwheat Pancake

My husband bought me “Farine de sarrasin” (Buckwheat flour) a few weeks ago, I didn’t really know much about buckwheat before. Just remember I have ordered some buckwheat pancakes in the past as breakfast at a restaurant and it was damn expensive. What is Buckwheat anyway? Well, Buckwheat is not a cereal grain as most people think but is a seed of a broadleaf plant related to rhubarb. Here are some interesting health benefits of consuming buckwheat into our diet.

P1060162

  1. High in fiber (good news for kiddo who are not fan of vegetables!!)
  2. Great for the digestion
  3. Best source of high quality, easily digestible proteins
  4. Chemical free
  5. Good at drawing out retained water
  6. Contains no gluten and is not a grain
  7. Non allergenic
  8. Good for your cardiovascular system
  9. High in manganese, magnesium, cooper and zinc, which are great for immune system (good choice for kiddo)

Since it is the first time I make buckwheat pancake for my son, I wanted to go easy on the quantity. And at my big big surprise, he loves my new pancakes texture better than my regular flour pancakes. So that means I will use this new healthier recipes from now on.

Ingredient:

  • 2/3 cup of flour (about 100-110g)
  • 1/3 cup buckwheat (about 37g)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup and 2 tbsp of water (Tip 3)
  • 4 tsp of sugar
  • 1 dash of vanilla
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Method:

  1. Add flour, buckwheat flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in a large bowl
  2. Then add egg, vanilla as well.
  3. Then slowly incorporate water as you stir on the other hand in the bowl
  4. You could let the batter rest for 30min or so. If rush in time, I sometime use it right the way and it is still fine
  5. Start medium heat, add some oil
  6. Add about 2 tbsp pancake batter in cooking pan.
  7. Spread evenly your batter in pan to create an even size circle.
  8. Cook about 1 min each side (Tip 1)
  9. Serve with desires toppings! (Tip 2)

 Tips:

  1. I don’t like over cook my pancake, 1 min cooking time each side is how I did it. Please feel free to adjust your cooking time, depending on your pan, your stove heat power.
  2. I will be serving my husband asparagus, ham and cheese next time. It should be a good combination to try out.
  3. Adjust your water for the density of your final favorite pancake. adding a bit more water for a lighter style and 1 cup will give you medium light style pancake that my family likes best.

P1060163

References:

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/10-health-benefits-of-buckwheat.html

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

