Best Asian fried pork chop

I promise you, this will be the killer pork chops. No joke, I could eat 5 pork chops all by myself, my husband was on the floor seeing me eating non stop lol ! This pork chop is a mix of crispy Japanese pork chop and adding some Korean and Chinese marinade element inside. This pork chop goes well with a cold nice beer (like what I did with my husband). Or on a nice green salad or basically anything that you like. Hope you will like them. Happy cooking!

20151109_175529

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 pork chop (I used large pork tenderloin, in butterfly cut)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup of Japanese panko
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ – 1 cup flour

Pork chop marinade:

  • ½ tsp Chinese five spices powder
  • 2 tsp sake
  • ½ tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp water
  • ½ tsp corn starch
  • 1 full tbsp Korean bean paste
  • 2-3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1-2 tsp oil (helps the marinade to blend together)

Method:

  1. Cut your pork tenderloin in butterfly to obtain a larger piece of pork chop. Or you could just use normal pork chop from groceryIMG_0986
  2. For butterfly cut, take your pork tenderloin and make one cut (but don’t cut through) and cut through the meat only on the second cut
  3. I like to flatten my pork a little bit with my meat flattener. It will be easier to cook and it will be quicker to cookIMG_0987
  4. Add all your pork chop marinade into a bowl and mix marinade well
  5. Add pork chop into sauce, let it marinate for 30min-1 hr (always ideal if overnight)
  6. Prepare 3 plates; one with flour, one with egg and one with Japanese pankoIMG_0990
  7. Heat pan with oil inside, enough oil to cover at least half of your pork chop. I don’t like to put too much oil. I will add more on the way as I see there is less oil during cooking (Tip 1)
  8. Take one pork chop and dip into flour plate both side. Shake off excess flour. Do the same and dip into the egg plate and lastly into the panko plate
  9. Add pork chop into heated oil and cook (Tip 2) IMG_0995
  10. For pork chop that I have flatten, it takes about 2.5 minutes each side to cook through. (Tip 3) IMG_0993
  11. Ready to serve!! IMG_0997.JPG

Tips:

  1. After frying 2 or 3 pork chops, I like to filter my oil because the oil taste no good if you keep frying the burn panko. IMG_0994.JPG
  2. To make sure your oil is hot enough, dip your wooden chopstick into the oil, if it creates nice little bubbles then your oil is good to go.
  3. The National pork board recommend an internal temperature at 160F for pork serving. Source: http://healthycanadians.gc.ca/eating-nutrition/healthy-eating-saine-alimentation/safety-salubrite/tips-conseils/cook-temperatures-cuisson-eng.php
Leave a Reply

